## CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the **Council** held on Thursday, 15th December, 2016 at Crewe Lifestyle Centre, Moss Square, Crewe. CW1 2BB

### **PRESENT**

Councillor O Hunter (Mayor/Chairman)
Councillor A Moran (Deputy Mayor/Vice-Chairman)

Councillors C Andrew, A Arnold, D Bailey, Rhoda Bailey, Baggott, P Bates, G Baxendale, D Bebbington, S Brookfield, D Brown, C Browne, B Burkhill, S Carter, J Clowes, S Corcoran, S Davies, M Deakin, T Dean, B Dooley, L Durham, S Edgar, I Faseyi, P Findlow, R Fletcher, T Fox, D Flude, H Gaddum, L Gilbert, M Grant, P Groves, J Hammond, S Hogben, L Jeuda, A Kolker, D Mahon, N Mannion, D Marren, A Martin, R Menlove, G Merry, B Moran, H Murray, S Pochin, B Roberts, J Saunders, M Sewart, M Simon, L Smetham, D Stockton, A Stott, G Wait, B Walmsley, G M Walton, L Wardlaw, M Warren, J Weatherill, H Wells-Bradshaw, G Williams and J Wray

### **Apologies**

Councillors Rachel Bailey, M Beanland, P Butterill, C Chapman, H Davenport, S Gardiner, S Gardner, M Hardy, A Harewood, G Hayes, D Hough, J Jackson, M Jones, S McGrory, D Newton, M Parsons and J Rhodes

### 60 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

## 61 GRANTING THE FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH TO OLYMPIC AND PARALYMPIC MEDALLISTS

The Mayor reported that she was delighted that her term in office had coincided with the Olympic and Paralympic Games and equally delighted that athletes with a link to Cheshire East had done so remarkably well in those games; mirroring the tremendous achievements of Team GB.

In 2012, the Council had started a tradition of honouring those from Cheshire East Borough who had won medals at the London Games and today seven people who had excelled in Rio were being celebrated. The highest honour that a Council could bestow was the Freedom of the Borough.

The Deputy Leader of the Council proposed that Elizabeth Clegg, Megan Giglia, Jason Kenny, Laura Kenny, Bryony Page, Andrew Small and Sophie Thornhill be granted the Freedom of Cheshire East.

The motion was seconded by Councillor Sam Corcoran.

The names of the Honorary Freemen and Honorary Freewomen were called out in alphabetical order and a tribute read for each one. Those present at the meeting then stepped forward to receive a certificate and medal from the Mayor.

The Mayor reported that not all those being honoured were able to attend the meeting, but it would be ensured that those not able to attend received their certificates and medals as quickly as possible.

### **RESOLVED**

That Elizabeth Clegg, Megan Giglia, Jason Kenny, Laura Kenny, Bryony Page, Andrew Small and Sophie Thornhill be granted the Freedom of Cheshire East.

# 62 GRANTING THE FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH TO SIR PHILIP CRAVEN

The Mayor reported that she was delighted to ask the Deputy Leader of the Council to propose that Sir Philip Craven be granted the Freedom of Cheshire East. Sir Philip was President of the International Paralympic Committee and had overseen the running of a most successful and enjoyable Paralympic Games. He had also opened the Crewe Lifestyle Centre earlier in the year, where the Special Council meeting was taking place.

The Deputy Leader, Councillor David Brown, proposed that Sir Philip Craven be granted the Freedom of Cheshire East.

Councillor Barry Burkhill seconded the motion.

Sir Philip then came forward to receive his medal and certificate from the Mayor. He then said a few words and thanked the Council for this honour.

#### **RESOLVED**

That Sir Philip Craven be granted the Freedom of Cheshire East.

### 63 DAME SARAH STOREY

Before closing the meeting, the Mayor highlighted the achievements of Dame Sarah Storey, who had been granted the Freedom of Cheshire East four years previously. She stated that Dame Sarah was arguably the most versatile British athlete in the history of the Paralympics and, as of 2016, the most successful in the modern era. She had been a swimmer at four Paralympic Games before switching to cycling in 2005. She had won three more Gold medals at the Rio Paralympics.

Unfortunately, she was unable to attend the meeting, but the Mayor asked those present to join with her in sending warmest congratulations to Dame Sarah and reported that, with Council's agreement, she would be writing to her.

The meeting commenced at 11.00 am and concluded at 11.50 am

Councillor O Hunter (Mayor/Chairman) CHAIRMAN